2019 Steven C. Beering Award

November 6, 2019 @ 9:00 am – 10:15 am America/Indiana/Indianapolis Timezone
Walther Hall
980 W Walnut St
IN 46202

2019 STEVEN C. BEERING AWARDThe 2019 Steven C. Beering Award will be presented to George R. Stark, PhD, a cancer biology researcher from the Cleveland Clinic. Stark will present his lecture, ‘The two faces of interferon: is our major antiviral defense mechanism a friend or a foe in cancer?’ at this event with a reception to follow.

The IU School of Medicine Steven C. Beering Award honors an internationally recognized individual for outstanding research contributions to the advancement of biomedical or clinical science. The Beering Award was established in 1983, honoring the important contributions Steven C. Beering, MD made to the IU School of Medicine as its dean from 1974 to 1983. Beering was the youngest dean appointed to the School of Medicine. He went on to become the president of Purdue University, serving until his retirement on August 14th, 2000. The creation of the award was announced on June 24th, 1983 and the award is presented annually and consists of a medal and a prize of $25,000. Seven of the past Beering Award recipients have become Nobel laureates, either before or after receipt of this award.

This event is sponsored by Faculty Affairs | Professional Development | Diversity.
If you have questions about this event, please contact the office at (317) 278-3089 or by email at fapdd@iu.edu.

|2019-09-24T15:56:22-04:00September 24th, 2019|0 Comments

Get Involved with Indiana CTSI