Virtual 2021 Indiana CTSI Annual Meeting

September 24, 2021 @ 8:45 am – 3:30 pm America/Indiana/Indianapolis Timezone

The 2021 Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute (CTSI) Annual Meeting will be held virtually on Friday, September 24.

The keynote speaker will be Nancy J. Brown, MD, Yale School of Medicine Dean, who is also this year’s winner of the August M. Watanabe Prize in Translational Research.

Brown’s research helped inform the focus of this year’s annual meeting titled: Preventing the Smoldering Pandemic of Obesity and the Metabolic Syndrome. The rest of the agenda is listed below.

Register here. 

8:45 AM – 9:00 AM     Log in to Attendify via computer or mobile — visit the activity stream to chat with others

9:00 AM – 9:15 AM     Welcome – Indiana CTSI Co-Directors Sharon Moe, MD, and Sarah Wiehe, MD, MPH

9:15 AM – 10:00 AM     Presentation of 2021 August M. Watanabe Prize in Translational Research and Keynote Address – “Probing the human kallikrein-kinin system: a case study in clinical/translational research” – Watanabe Awardee: Nancy J. Brown, MD, Dean, Yale Medical School, with introduction by: Jay L. Hess, MD, PhD, MHSA, Dean, Indiana University School of Medicine

10:00 AM – 10:15 AM     Live Audience Q & A – Nancy J. Brown, MD, Dean, Yale Medical School

10:15 AM – 11:15 AM     Research Poster Presentations from Pre-docs, Post-docs, Assistant Professors and the Cores  

  • 10:17 AM – 10:25 AM   Conner Earl, TL1 Predoctoral Trainee, Purdue University, Four-Dimensional Strain Characterization of Cardiomyopathy in Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy from Cardiac Magnetic Resonance Imaging
  • 10:27 AM – 10:35 AM  Josiah Davidson, TL1 Predoctoral Trainee, Purdue University, Development of paper-based, point-of-care respiratory diagnostics
  • 10:37 AM – 10:45 AM  Season Johnson, TL1 Postdoctoral Trainee, IU School of Medicine, MR1/MAIT cell axis in human and experimental models of Alzheimer’s Disease
  • 10:47 AM – 10:55 AM  Jamie Felton, MD, KL2 Scholar, Assistant Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Cellular Metabolic Reprogramming Precedes Islet Autoimmunity in Type 1 Diabetes
  • 10:57 AM – 11:05 AM  Matthew Hume, MA, Indiana CTSI-affiliated investigator, Department of English, IUPUI, Determining the Power of the CoMac Descriptor™ in Predicting Behavioral Intervention Choices among the Gestational Diabetes Population
  • 11:07 AM – 11: 15 AM  Siyuan Zhang, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Notre Dame, Use of the Genomics and Bioinformatics Core Facility to publish CNS-Native Myeloid Cells Drive Immune Suppression in the Brain Metastatic Niche through Cxcl10 in Cell 

11:15 AM – 12:00 PM     Networking Lunch

12:00 PM –  1:00 PM     Attend Poster Sessions and the Research Rally

1:00 PM  – 1:30 PM     Person-to-Person Health Interview Study Findings; Obesity Disproportionality Affecting Minorities – Bernice Pescosolido, PhD, Principal Investigator and Indiana University Distinguished Professor of Sociology and Stephen Carter, PhD, Assistant Professor, Indiana University Bloomington School of Public Health

1:30 PM – 2:00 PM     Dysfunction of the Circadian Clock that Underlies Several Disease States, including Obesity and Diabetes – Giles Duffield, PhD, Associate Professor Biological Sciences, University of Notre Dame

 2:00 PM  –  2:30 PM     Indiana CTSI and State Department of Health Community Coalitions’ Approach to Prevention and Treatment of Obesity and the Metabolic Syndrome  – Dennis Savaiano, PhD, Director of the Connections IN Health/Indiana State Department of Health Coalition Development Program, Purdue University and Lily Darbishire, MPH, RDN, PhD Candidate, Department of Nutrition Science, Purdue University

2:30 PM – 3:00 PM     Shoulder-to-Shoulder Against The Menace of Diabetic Ulcer – Chandan Sen, PhD, IU Distinguished Professor, Associate Dean for Entrepreneurial Research, Indiana University School of Medicine and Director, Indiana Center for Regenerative Medicine and Engineering

3:00 PM – 3:20 PM     Future of Science in the Metabolic Syndrome – Nancy J. Brown, MD, Dean, Yale Medical School

3:20 PM – 3:30 PM     Closing Remarks – Sharon Moe, MD, and Sarah Wiehe, MD, MPH, Co-Directors, Indiana CTSI

|2021-09-22T00:20:17-04:00May 12th, 2021|Comments Off on Virtual 2021 Indiana CTSI Annual Meeting

About the Author:

Julie Driscol

Get Involved with Indiana CTSI