Virtual Indiana CTSI Clinical Research Symposium & Workshop–Evansville

When:
December 4, 2020 @ 10:00 am – 3:30 pm America/Indiana/Indianapolis Timezone
2020-12-04T10:00:00-05:00
2020-12-04T15:30:00-05:00
Where:
Virtual - Hosted by IU School of Medicine Evansville
Cost:
Free

The Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute (CTSI) Clinical Research Symposium & Workshop–Evansville will be taking place virtually on Friday, December 4, 2020. This full-day event will provide an in-depth look at clinical and translational research opportunities provided by the Indiana CTSI and Evansville/Southwest Indiana organizations. Registration information is available here.

Registration is free for university and community partners, such as Indiana CTSI affiliates (Indiana University, Purdue University, University of Notre Dame and IUPUI/IU School of Medicine), Stone Family Center for Health Sciences partners (University of Southern Indiana and University of Evansville), IU School of Medicine Southwest Indiana residence programs and Deaconess Family Medicine residency program.

Morning Session – Scientific Talks & Research Blitz – 9:00 am – 11:00 am CT (10:00 am – 12:00 pm ET)

  • Welcome by Indiana CTSI Co-Directors, Dr. Sarah Wiehe and Dr. Sharon Moe
  • Invited Talk by David Haas, MD on the Hoosier Moms Study, a statewide research study on gestational diabetes
  • Research Blitz
    • Exercise Habits and COVID-19 Impacts on Individuals with Parkinson’s Disease Living in the Community – Jordana Lockwich, DPT, University of Evansville
    • A Collaborative Model to Determine COVID-19 prevalence – Majed Kolielat, MD, Deaconess Health System (collaboration with IUSM)
    • The Effect of a Novel Training Program to Improve Trunk Stability Push Up Performance in Active Females – Kate Schwartz, DPT, PhD, University of Evansville
    • Prevalence of sensory processing differences in pediatric gastrointestinal patient population – Jessica Wood, OTD, University of Southern Indiana (collaboration with St. Vincent Hospital and IUSM)
    • A Nation-Wide Survey of High School Baseball Coaches Indicates their Arm Care Programs Plays a Role in Injury Prevention – Kyle Matsel, DPT, University of Evansville
    • Atrophy patterns in symptom-based subtypes of Alzheimer disease – Emily Iannopollo, Indiana CTSI MedSTAR Trainee, IUSM-Evansville

[Break between 11:00 am – 11:30 am CT /12:00 pm – 12:30 pm ET]

Lunch Session – Roundtable Discussion on Indiana CTSI Resources – 11:30 am – 12:30 pm CT (12:30 pm – 1:30 pm ET)

Panelists will include:

  • Scott Denne, MD, Director of Indiana CTSI Clinical Research Centers & Support
  • Tommy Sors, PhD, Purdue Navigator for Indiana CTSI
  • Lane Coffee, PhD, Indianapolis Navigator for Indiana CTSI
  • Joel Ybe, PhD, Bloomington Navigator for Indiana CTSI
  • Melanie DeFord, Notre Dame Navigator for Indiana CTSI
  • Kara Garcia, PhD, Evansville Navigator for Indiana CTSI
  • Anna Roberts, Regenstrief Navigator for Indiana CTSI
  • Ellen Ireland, PhD, Terre Haute Navigator for Indiana CTSI

Afternoon Session – Research Grant Writing Workshop – 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm CT (2:00 pm – 3:30 pm ET)

Led by R. Lane Coffee, Jr., PhD, MS, Assistant Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine | IUPUI Research Navigator | Program Manager for Translational Research Development

|2020-11-18T16:37:11-05:00October 7th, 2020|0 Comments

About the Author:

Anna Carrera
Anna Carrera is the research communications manager for Indiana University's Precision Health Initiative, IU School of Medicine Research Affairs and the Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute. She joined the team in June 2019 after working as a TV news reporter for ten years. She loves sharing stories about the great research being done across the state to improve the health of Hoosiers.

Get Involved with Indiana CTSI