Indiana CTSI leaders named Indiana University distinguished professors

February 16, 2017
Anantha Shekhar

Anantha Shekhar, MD, PhD

Nine Indiana University scholars and researchers have been promoted to distinguished professor, the highest academic rank the university bestows upon faculty.

The new distinguished professors include Indiana CTSI director Anantha Shekhar, MD, PhD, a neuroscientist and medical researcher in the IU School of Medicine, and Tatiana Foroud, PhD, scientific director of the Indiana Biobank and a statistical geneticist in the IU School of Medicine Department of Medical and Molecular Genetics.

“These acclaimed men and women represent the pinnacle of public education through their remarkable research, teaching and service in an extraordinarily wide range of disciplines,” IU President Michael A. McRobbie said. “Our students and campuses have benefited beyond measure from their superb accomplishments, scholarship and integrity, and it is most appropriate that we honor these faculty with Indiana University’s most prestigious appointment.”

Tatiana Foroud

Tatiana Foroud, PhD

The distinguished professorship recognizes faculty who have transformed their fields of study and have earned international recognition. Faculty, alumni, professional colleagues and students nominate the field of candidates based on outstanding research, scholarship, and artistic or literary distinction. Nominations are reviewed by the University Distinguished Ranks Committee, which recommends appointments.

|2018-10-24T12:19:51-04:00February 16th, 2017|Comments Off on Indiana CTSI leaders named Indiana University distinguished professors

About the Author: James Dudley

James Dudley

Get Involved with Indiana CTSI