Home/About Us/Leadership

The Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute (CTSI) is a statewide partnership among Indiana University, Purdue University and the University of Notre Dame – all working together to improve health in Indiana through research. The Indiana CTSI has been continuously funded since 2008 by multi-million-dollar grants from the National Institutes of Health’s National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences and is administratively managed by Indiana University through the IU School of Medicine.

Indiana CTSI Leadership

Anantha Shekhar, MD, PhD
Founding Director

Anantha Shekhar, MD, PhD

Carmel Egan, PhD
Chief Operating Officer

Mark Geraci, MD

George Wodicka, PhD

Geprge Wodicka, PhD

Sarah Wiehe, MD, MPH

Executive Strategy Team

The Indiana CTSI’s executive strategy team is made up of its leadership team (above) + Ken Carlson, director of the IU Office of Clinical Research; Aaron Carroll, MD, director of career development, education and research training programs at the Indiana CTSI; Scott Denne, MD, deputy director of the Indiana CTSI for the IUPUI campus; Rob Dimmitt, MBA, senior director of research administration and finance at the Indiana CTSI and IU School of Medicine; Christine Drury, associate director of research communications at the Indiana CTSI and IU School of Medicine; Joe Hunt, MPH, director of tracking and evaluation at the Indiana CTSI; Patricia McGuire, the Indiana CTSI’s education program manager; and Samantha Scahill, administrative director for the Indiana CTSI and IU School of Medicine Research Affairs.

Indiana CTSI Deputy Directors

Scott Denne, MD
IUPUI campus

Jeff Zaleski, PhD
IU Bloomington campus

George Wodicka, PhD
Purdue campus

Richard Taylor, PhD
Notre Dame campus

University Leadership

Michael A. McRobbie
Indiana University

Mitch Daniels
Purdue University

Rev. John Jenkins
University of Notre Dame

Jay L. Hess
VP, Clinical Affairs
Indiana University

Fred H. Cate
VP, Research
Indiana University

Suresh Garimella
VP, Research
Purdue University

Robert J. Bernhard
VP, Research
University of Notre Dame

Additional Leadership

The Indiana CTSI is also guided by multiple advisory boards made up of scientific, business and community leaders and experts from across the state and the nation, including the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences and its Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) Program.




David L. Johnson (Chair)
President and Chief Executive Officer

Steve Dubinett (Chair)
University of California, Los Angeles

Jay L. Hess 
Dean of Indiana University School of Medicine

Andrew Dahlem
Vice President and COO Emeritus
Lilly Research Laboratories

Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola
University of California, Davis

Fred H. Cate (Co-chair)
Indiana University

Jamie Dananberg
Chief Medical Officer
Unity Biotechnology

Michael J. Becich
University of Pittsburgh

Suresh Garimella (Co-chair)
Purdue University

Dan Evans
CEO Emeritus
Indiana University Health

Robert Dittus
Vanderbilt University

Robert J. Bernhard (Co-chair)
University of Notre Dame

Bruce Gingles
Vice President
Cook Medical

Cynthia Morris
Oregon Health & Science University

Harry L. Gonso
Ice Miller LLP

Philip Payne
Washington University in St. Louis

Jay McGill
Indiana Biosciences Research Institute

Doris M. Rubio
University of Pittsburgh

Dennis Murphy
Indiana University Health

Harry Selker
Tufts University

N. Clay Robbins
Chairman, President and CEO
Lilly Endowment Inc.

Maureen Smith
University of Wisconsin

Related Content

Get Involved with Indiana CTSI