Elwert award winners announced

July 6, 2021

Jeffrey Elmendorf, PhD, and Yuichiro Takagi, PhD, are the two recipients of the 2021 Bert Elwert Award in Medicine.

Elmendorf, an associate professor of anatomy, cell biology and physiology, submitted a proposal called, Refining the molecular basis of insulin resistance & diabetes.

Takagi, an associate professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, submitted a proposal called, Structure and function of Mediator CDK8 module.

Made possible by a bequest from the estate of Dr. Bert Elwert, an IU alumnus who earned a doctoral degree from the School of Business in 1965, the Elwert Award seeks to support medical research that is likely to “give the largest incremental boost to our performance and reputation within the medical/scientific community.” While it is difficult to predict the end result of pilot projects, the Biomedical Research Committee believes this potential may be present in their proposed work.

|2021-07-06T16:52:18-04:00July 6th, 2021|Comments Off on Elwert award winners announced

About the Author: CTSI Author

CTSI Author

Get Involved with Indiana CTSI