Indiana CTSI founding director receives prestigious award

April 16, 2020

This month, Dr. Anantha Shekhar, MD, PhD, Executive Associate Dean for Research Affairs at the IU School of Medicine, received the Gerald L. Bepko Outstanding Administrator Award from the IUPUI Faculty Council Executive Committee. The award is usually presented at the Chancellor’s Academic Honors Convocation, but due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the event was canceled and the committee will mail the award – in the form of a plaque – instead.


Dr. Anantha Shekhar, MD, PhD

“It is truly an honor to receive this award,” said Dr. Shekhar, who is the founding director of the Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute. “During my years here, I have been fortunate to work with faculty and trainees at all levels in my various administrative roles within IU School of Medicine, as well as across the IUPUI campus, and facilitate collaboration. Both of those are important to create a dynamic environment for fostering the advancement of science.”

The Bepko award was established in 2003 to recognize outstanding administrators who demonstrate qualities of a servant leader (such as humor, humanity and humility), build consensus with faculty in new initiatives, and represent IUPUI in a positive light to the broader community. John C. Watson, who is the IUPUI Faculty Council president, also congratulated Dr. Shekhar on his almost 40 years at IUPUI, including his efforts in mentoring, research and managing.

“Dr. Shekhar created an environment, centered on the IUPUI campus, that fosters excellence by connecting universities and industry to make the transition from the lab to the medical practice,” said Watson.

|2020-04-16T10:29:27-04:00April 16th, 2020|Comments Off on Indiana CTSI founding director receives prestigious award

About the Author: CTSI Author

CTSI Author

Get Involved with Indiana CTSI