2019 Showalter Awards

October 17, 2019

In October, scholars received awards during the Showalter Trustees Breakfast. Rachel Katzenellenbogen, MD, and Yan Liu, PhD, were recognized as 2019 Showalter Scholars and were given their awards by IU School of Medicine Dean Jay Hess, MD, PhD, MHSA. Catherine Sears, MD (2015 awardee) and Ashay Bhatwadekar, PhD, RPh (2014 & 2016 awardee) also gave presentations about their research. Indiana CTSI founding director Anantha Shekhar, MD, PhD, gave the welcome address at the event.

When it comes to biomedical research funding, new investigators typically have a disadvantage. Nationwide, the average age for an investigator to get their first NIH award is now greater than 45. In comparison, the average age for Showalter investigators at IU School of Medicine who receive their first NIH award is 41.7.

Showalter award funding allows investigators to test new ideas, and develop scientific and medical advances that they may not have been able to otherwise. Winners must be full-time faculty members, working as an assistant professor or assistant research professor.

|2019-10-17T11:03:37-04:00October 17th, 2019|Comments Off on 2019 Showalter Awards

About the Author: Anna Carrera

Avatar photo
Anna Carrera is the research communications manager for Indiana University's Precision Health Initiative, IU School of Medicine Research Affairs and the Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute. She joined the team in June 2019 after working as a TV news reporter for ten years. She loves sharing stories about the great research being done across the state to improve the health of Hoosiers.

Get Involved with Indiana CTSI