Indiana CTSI/IU School of Medicine Regional Campuses Retreat

When:
July 16, 2021 @ 10:00 am – 4:00 pm America/Indiana/Indianapolis Timezone
2021-07-16T10:00:00-04:00
2021-07-16T16:00:00-04:00

Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute (CTSI) and IU School of Medicine are hosting the first Indiana CTSI Regional Campuses Retreat virtually on Friday, July 16 from 10 am – 4 pm ET (9 am – 3 pm CT).

The theme is, “Building Collaborations in Health.” View all of the presentations and corresponding authors here. 

Morning session is from 10:00 am – 12:00 pm ET (9:00 am – 11:00 am CT)

Lunch session is from 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm ET (11:00 am – 12:00 pm CT)

  • 12:00 pm ET (11:00 am CT) – Break
  • 12:10 pm ET (11:10 am CT) – Research Blitz
    • “TNF is Required for Innate Immune-Mediated Inflammatory Bowel Disease” – Alvaro Torres-Huert, PhD (South Bend)
    • “HSF1 regulation of Anti-Tumor Immune Response in Breast Cancer” – Curteisha Jacobs (Bloomington)
    • “Addiction Coalition of Delaware County” – Shaylin Kiehl (Muncie)
    • “Engaging Congregations for Trustworthy Health Connections and Advocacy” – Shonda Nicole Gladden, MDiv, MTS (Indianapolis)
    • “Community Workforce Differences in Wellness Across Gender and Job Description in Southwest Indiana” – Victoria Rone (Evansville)
    • “Microbial Metabolites, Type 1 Diabetes and Obesity” – Heba Ismail, MD (Indianapolis)

Afternoon Session is from 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm ET (12:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT) 

  • 1:00 pm ET (12:00 pm CT) – Scientific presentations on preclinical and clinical research
    • “Development of beta-lactam potentiator and antibacterial agents against methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus” – Taeok Bae, PhD (Gary)
    • “Immunoresponsive gene 1 modulates the severity of brain injury in cerebral ischemia” – Jimmy Yen, PhD (Fort Wayne)
    • “The Effects of Anesthetics on a Human Stem Cell-Derived Blood-Brain Barrier Model” – Scott Canfield, PhD (Terre Haute)
    • “Single-cell transcriptome analysis reveals CNS innate immune landscape plasticity in diet-induced obesity and type 2 diabetes” – Ivorine Yu, PhD (Fort Wayne)
    • “A role for Nod2 in obesity-associated liver cancer” – Dipika Gupta, PhD (Gary)
  • 2:00 pm ET (1:00 pm CT) – Break
  • 2:10 pm ET (1:10 pm CT) – Scientific presentations on clinical implementation and public health research
    • “Public Policy and Agency-Driven Translational Research: Using Science and Evidence to Improve Hoosier Wellbeing through a State-University Partnership” – Amber Osterholt, PhD (WISE Indiana)
    • “The Ivy Tech Response to the Indiana PPE Crisis” – Glen Roberson, MS (Ivy Tech)
    • “Analysis of COVID-19 Case Demographics in Gary, Indiana” – Tatiana Kostrominova, PhD (Gary)
    • “Education of Engineering Students to Support Medical Research and Treatment with BioMEMS” – Andrew Bell, MSEE (Fort Wayne)

“Bonus Round” is from 3:00 – 4:00 pm ET (2:00 pm – 3:00 pm CT).

Register here.

Contact Evansville Navigator Kara Garcia (karagarc@iu.edu) or Terre Haute Navigator Ellen Ireland (eireland@iu.edu) with questions.

|2021-07-10T16:25:40-04:00May 11th, 2021|0 Comments

About the Author:

Anna Carrera
Anna Carrera is the research communications manager for Indiana University's Precision Health Initiative, IU School of Medicine Research Affairs and the Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute. She joined the team in June 2019 after working as a TV news reporter for ten years. She loves sharing stories about the great research being done across the state to improve the health of Hoosiers.

Get Involved with Indiana CTSI